The Passano Files at MDHS

I wanted to pass on a wonderful resource that I just discovered at The Maryland Historical Society which is extremely useful for researching architecture, The Passano Files.

Created in 1935 by volunteer, Eleanor Passano, and continued by current librarian, Francis O’Neill, the files are an invaluable resource for researching Baltimore architecture.  I just spent this past Saturday pouring over the cards and discovered great information about buildings in my neighborhood.

Passano and O’Neill indexed buildings that appeared in photographs, newspaper articles and publications all in one place.  The files are organized by street address and are extremely easy to use.  To learn more about the project click here.

I hope that you enjoy this resource as much as I do.  I can’t wait to go back and dig through the Passano files some more soon.

This entry was posted in Architecture, Baltimore. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

